Nebraska Minimum Wage Increases to $12 Effective January 1, 2024

Release Date: 12/20/2023

LINCOLN – Nebraska’s minimum wage will increase to $12 per hour effective January 1, 2024. In accordance with an initiative passed by voters in November of 2022, the minimum wage will increase $1.50 each year through 2026, followed by an annual cost of living increase beginning in 2027. The minimum hourly wage for tipped employees is $2.13 per hour.  Employers are responsible for ensuring that wages and tips combined equal at least the minimum wage.

The following minimum wage amounts are scheduled:

  • January 1, 2024: $12 per hour
  • January 1, 2025: $13.50 per hour
  • January 1, 2026: $15 per hour
  • January 1, 2027: The minimum wage will increase based on the cost-of-living increase as measured by the Consumer Price Index.

Information about the minimum wage, including current workplace posters, is available at Labor law specialists are available to answer questions from workers and employers regarding wages in Nebraska and may be contacted at 402-471-2239 or