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  Workforce Investment Act 
 

Nebraska Department of Labor  
Office of Employment & Training  

 
 

 

Eligible Training Provider Policy 
 
 

Reference: 
Workforce Investment Act of 1998, Sections 117, 122, 123, 134; 20 CFR: 663.500-663.595, 
667.640; Nebraska’s WIA Five-Year Integrated State Plan (July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2017) and 
approved Waiver of Period of Initial Eligibility for Training Providers. 
 

Background: 
To prescribe eligibility criteria and general conditions that training providers must meet in order to 
become certified as an eligible provider to receive adult and dislocated worker funds through 
Individual Training Accounts.  Initial eligibility is required to be for a maximum of 18 months [WIA 
Section 122(c)(5)] and, in limited circumstances when insufficient data is available, may be 
extended for a period of up to six additional months.  However, since 2005, the State has received 
approval from the U.S. Department of Labor to waive the initial eligibility period for training 
providers.  Nebraska’s current waiver is approved through June 30, 2017.  The State requested 
the waiver in order to enhance the flexibility of the public workforce system and bring a larger 
number of training provider choices delivered through the State’s Eligible Training Provider (ETP) 
List located at http://traininglink.dol.state.ne.us/. The list includes public and private colleges and 
universities, state colleges, community colleges, private postsecondary career colleges and 
schools, community based organizations, approved apprenticeship programs, or the job training 
employers and youth service providers.   

 

Action:   
After the 10 day public review period, this policy is considered final.  Questions and comments 
should be submitted in writing to Jan Fox, Policy Coordinator, jan.fox@nebraska.gov.  
 

Policy: 
To become an eligible provider requires that a training provider be certified under the Higher 
Education Act and provide a program that leads to an associate degree, baccalaureate degree or 
certificate;  or provide training under the National Apprenticeship Act; or provide a program of 
training services as an alternative public or private provider. 
 
All providers must apply for certification and submit the performance and cost information 
required.  To remain eligible, providers must meet or exceed minimum levels of performance 
established by the State and localities. 
 
Providers certified as eligible providers in one Workforce Investment Area are eligible providers for 
all areas.  The State will compile a list of eligible providers with cost and performance information.  
This information is provided so the customer is able to make an informed decision on which 
provider and program of training services best meets his/her needs.  The list will be available 
electronically on the Nebraska Department of Labor (NDOL) website at www.dol.nebraska.gov). 

http://traininglink.dol.state.ne.us/
mailto:jan.fox@nebraska.gov
http://www.dol.nebraska.gov/
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There are procedures for removing institutions from the eligible provider list if the certification 
criteria are not met and there are appeal procedures for institutions that have been removed.   
 

Eligibility Requirements 
The Workforce Investment Act emphasizes informed customer choice, system performance and 
continuous improvement.  The eligible provider process is part of the strategy to achieve these 
goals.  The State has the responsibility of managing the eligible training process to ensure its 
success.  Although the State establishes the minimum performance levels for initial determination 
of non-Higher Education Act/registered apprenticeship providers and all subsequent eligibility 
determinations, the local boards may establish additional performance levels for subsequent 
eligibility determinations.   
 
Many types of training services are eligible to be certified as eligible providers.  A program of 
training services is one or more courses or classes, or a structured regimen that, upon successful 
completion, leads to: 

 A certificate, an associate degree, or baccalaureate degree; or 

 The skills or competencies needed for a specific job or jobs, an occupation, occupational 
group, or generally, for many types of jobs or occupations, as recognized by employers 
and determined prior to training. 

 
There are two types of eligibility, A) initial and B) subsequent, which have slightly different 
qualifying procedures and will be discussed separately. 
 

A. INITIAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 

Nebraska has established the following policies and procedures for determining the initial eligibility 
for training providers based on Section 122 of the Act: 
 

Step 1 – Submit Application on TrainingLink 
 

All institutions, public or private providers desiring to provide training services shall submit an 
application on TrainingLink http://traininglink.dol.state.ne.us/. The application was developed 
jointly by all three local boards and contains the required information from the Act and regulations. 
To assure the training provider complies fully with nondiscrimination, equal opportunity and 
accessibility requirements, the application contains questions addressing these issues. Only those 
providers answering affirmatively shall be given further consideration as possible applicants. The 
application can be accessed on the TrainingLink website. The provider must submit an application 
in the time frame and manner prescribed by the local board ensuring that all necessary 
information is included.  
 
If the provider is a private postsecondary career school, the state checks the Nebraska 
Department of Education’s Private Postsecondary Career Schools office to ensure the provider is 
able to do business in Nebraska under state law or is exempt. This occurs prior to activating the 
TrainingLink account. Once the TrainingLink account is activated, the provider is able to enter a 
program application for submission to the local board. The provider must submit an application in 
the time frame and manner prescribed by the local board ensuring that all necessary information is 
included. 
 

http://traininglink.dol.state.ne.us/
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Applications received in TrainingLink are forwarded to the appropriate local board for review.  
Upon review, the local board will approve or disapprove the initial application. The local area will 
then forward the application with approval or disapproval date back to the State so the status in 
TrainingLink can be changed. Approved programs are then forwarded to NDOL’s Office of 
Employment and Training (OET) for inclusion in NEworks, the statewide MIS case management 
system. Approved programs will be available to participants across the state. If a program 
application is not approved, the local area will contact the provider to inform them of the local 
board’s decision.   
 
There are circumstances when applications require state review and when state review is not 
required.   
 
When State Review Is Required – Other Public or Private Providers – Other public or private 
providers of a program of training may be included on the initial eligible provider list even though 
they do not meet the criteria described above.  However, they must follow the procedure 
established by local boards to determine the eligibility of a provider to receive funds for a program 
of training services.  Examples of providers that might be included in this category include 
community-based organizations and the local boards, if those local boards meet the waiver criteria 
for providing training (discussed later in this policy).  Programs of training services provided by 
postsecondary educational institutions that do not lead to an associate or baccalaureate degree or 
certificate and apprenticeship programs that are not registered under the National Apprenticeship 
Act must be determined for initial eligibility under these provisions.  Customers may nominate to 
the local board providers to be considered on the initial eligible provider list. 
 
When State Review Is Not Required – According to Section 122 of WIA, a training provider that 
meets one of the following criteria is initially eligible without state agency review: 

 a post secondary educational institution that is able to receive Federal funds under title IV 
of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and provides a program that leads to an associate 
degree, a baccalaureate degree, or certificate;  
 

      OR 
 

 an entity that carries out programs under the National Apprenticeship Act.  
 
WIA Section 122(c)(5) requires the initial eligibility to be for a maximum of 18 months.  In limited 
circumstances when insufficient data is available, initial eligibility may be extended for a period of 
up to six additional months.  However, since 2005, the State has received approval from the U.S. 
Department of Labor to waive the initial eligibility period for training providers.  Nebraska’s current 
waiver is approved for July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2017.   

 

Step 2– Performance Information [Required for Other Public or Private Providers] 
 

Current Provider of Training Services – If the provider provides training services through a 
program on the date of application, they shall include performance information on the program.  
 
There are seven measures for which providers must submit performance data and meet the 
standards.   
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Three of the measures cover all individuals participating in the program and include: 
1. Program completion rates for all individuals participating in the applicable program;  

[For programs longer than one year in length, participants may be identified by their major.  
If a student (who earlier declared a major) transfers out of the program, he/she is no longer 
identified with that program.] 
 

2. Percentage of all individuals participating in the applicable programs who obtain 
unsubsidized employment, which may also include information specifying the percentage 
of individuals who obtain unsubsidized employment in an occupation related to the 
program; and  
 

3. Wages at placement in employment of all individuals participating in the applicable 
program. 
 

Four of the measures concern only customers who complete the training program and cover the:  
4. Percentage of applicants who have completed the applicable program and have been 

placed in unsubsidized employment;  
 

5. Retention rates in unsubsidized employment of participants who have completed the 
applicable program, six months after the first day of the employment involved;  
 

6. Wages received by participants who have completed the applicable program, six months 
after the first day of the employment involved; and  
 

7. Rates of licensure or certification, attainment of academic degrees or equivalents, or 
attainment of other measures of skills, of the training participants who graduate from 
applicable programs. 
 

Non-Current Provider of Training Services – If the provider does not provide training services 
on the date of the application, the provider must meet the appropriate requirements as specified in 
the state and local procedures. 
 
WIA Section 122(c)(5) requires the initial eligibility for approved Other Public or Private Providers 
to be for a maximum of 18 months.  In limited circumstances when insufficient data is available, 
initial eligibility may be extended for a period of up to six additional months.  However, since 2005, 
the State has received approval from the U.S. Department of Labor to waive the initial eligibility 
period for training providers.  Nebraska’s current waiver is approved through June 30, 2017.   

 

Step 3 – Cost Information [Required for All Providers] 
 

Each provider must submit information relating to the program costs (such as tuition and fees) for 
participants of each program. 
 

Step 4 – Verification of Performance 
 

After the State receives the local lists of eligible providers and programs, the designated state 
agency has 30 days to verify whether the provider meets the required performance.  A provider 
who is placed on the list for a program, and is not removed by NDOL, shall be considered an 
eligible provider of training services for the program.  The program is displayed on Training Link 
http://traininglink.dol.state.ne.us/ with a red check mark to indicate that it is an approved program. 

http://traininglink.dol.state.ne.us/
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B. SUBSEQUENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 
Nebraska has established the following policies and procedures for determining the subsequent 
eligibility for training providers based on Section 122 of the Act:  
 

Step 1 [Required for All Providers] 
 

Training providers seeking subsequent eligibility shall submit the following performance 
information annually through their application in TrainingLink. They must also annually meet the 
required performance levels.   
 
There are seven measures for which providers must submit performance data.   
 
Three of the measures cover all individuals participating in the program and include: 

1. Program completion rates for all individuals participating in the applicable program;  
[For programs longer than one year in length, participants may be identified by their major.  
If a student (who earlier declared a major) transfers out of the program, they are no longer 
identified with that program.] 
 

2. Percentage of all individuals participating in the applicable programs who obtain 
unsubsidized employment, which may also include information specifying the percentage 
of individuals who obtain unsubsidized employment in an occupation related to the 
program; and  
 

3. Wages at placement in employment of all individuals participating in the applicable 
program.   
 

Four of the measures concern only WIA customers who complete the training program and cover 
the:  

1. Percentage of participants who have completed the applicable program and have been 
placed in unsubsidized employment;  
 

2. Retention rates in unsubsidized employment of participants who have completed the 
applicable program, six months after the first day of the employment involved;  
 

3. Wages received by participants who have completed the applicable program, six months 
after the first day of the employment involved; and 
 

4. Rates of licensure or certification, attainment of academic degrees or equivalents, or 
attainment of other measures of skills, of the training participants receiving funds 
authorized under Title I of WIA who graduate from applicable programs. 

 
Additional Information – The Governor and state board may annually require other verifiable 
program-specific performance information such as:  retention rates in employment and the 
subsequent wages of all individuals who complete the applicable program; or where appropriate, 
the rates of licensure or certification of all individuals who complete the program; and the 
percentage of individuals who complete the program who attain industry-recognized occupational 
skills in the subject, occupation, or industry for which training is provided through the program, 
where applicable.  The Governor or local board, may require other verifiable program-specific 
performance information to obtain subsequent eligibility.   
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Assistance With Information Collection – If gathering the additional information imposes 
extraordinary costs or if gathering the required information on training participants receiving funds 
authorized by Title I of WIA imposes extraordinary costs, the Governor or state board shall provide 
access to cost-effective methods for the collection of the required information, or the Governor 
shall provide additional resources to assist providers in the collection of the information, as 
appropriate.  For instance, use of wage records with the assistance of the Department of Labor 
may assist in this process. 
 

Step 4 – Cost Information [Required for All Providers] 
 

Each provider must submit information relating to the program costs (such as tuition and fees) for 
participants of each program. 
 

Step 3 – Performance Verification [Required for All Providers] 
 

A provider who is retained on the list for a program, and is not removed by the State shall be 
considered to be an eligible provider of training services for the program.   
 

Development of Procedures 
Initial 
As the initial procedures to determine eligibility as a provider were developed, recommendations 
were sought from the local boards, local board staff and providers of training services.  Comments 
were also solicited from interested members of the public, including representatives of business 
and labor organizations.   
 
Subsequent 
The Governor shall determine the specific procedure, for use by the local boards, for determining 
subsequent eligibility for post secondary educational institutions that are able to receive Federal 
funds under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and provide programs that lead to an 
associate degree, a baccalaureate degree, or certificate, or an entity that carries out programs 
under the National Apprenticeship Act.  
 
During the development of the procedures to determine subsequent eligibility as a provider, the 
Act spells out the need to receive recommendations from the local boards and providers of 
training services.  Comments shall also be solicited from interested members of the public, 
including representatives of business and labor organizations.   
 
The State requires local boards to consider several factors in making determinations of 
subsequent eligibility.  These include: specific economic, geographic, and demographic factors 
(including the characteristics of the populations) in the local areas in which providers seeking 
eligibility are located.  The local boards should also consider the difficulties in serving specific 
population groups.  
 
The local board may require higher levels of performance than the levels referred to in the State 
procedures. 
 
The Governor will make available the services of NDOL for the use of wage records in gathering 
information related to the eligible training provider provision under WIA, where appropriate as 
determined by the Commissioner of Labor, and not prohibited by state or federal law.  Although 
the Governor will make available the services of NDOL to assist local boards in accessing this 
information, local boards may obtain this information from any reliable source. 
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Waiver Authority 
In general, except under waiver authority, no local board (or their staff) may provide training 
services.  However, local boards may submit a proposed request for a waiver of training 
prohibition to the Governor to become an eligible provider of training services. The local board’s 
request must include: 

 satisfactory evidence there is an insufficient number of eligible providers of such training 
services to meet the demand in the local area;  

 information demonstrating the board meets the requirements as an eligible provider of 
training services; and  

 information demonstrating the program of training services prepares participants for an 
occupation that is in demand in the local area. 

 
The local board must also make the proposed request available to eligible providers of training 
services and other interested members of the public for a public comment period of not less than 
30 days.  The local board must then submit the request to NDOL, with the information and 
evidence listed above as well as information from the public comments received.  Local boards 
may apply for a waiver that does not exceed one year in length.  A waiver may be renewed for 
additional periods not to exceed one year if the local board again follows the procedures listed 
above. 
 
The waiver may be revoked if the State determines the local board involved has engaged in a 
pattern of inappropriate referrals to training services operated by the local board.  
 

On-the-Job Training Providers 
Providers of customized training and on-the-job training shall not be subject to the eligible provider 
requirements. [WIA Section 122(h)(1)]  The State has established qualifying procedures to ensure 
a strong relationship between the eligible provider process and program performance.  In general, 
performance information must be collected and the local area shall determine whether providers 
meet the performance criteria as the State procedures require.  Employers participating in the OJT 
Program will be listed on the State’s Eligible Training Provider list on TrainingLink.  NEworks will 
be the source for employer information. 
 

Eligible Providers of Youth Activities 
The local board for each area shall identify eligible providers of youth activities by awarding grants 
or contracts on a competitive basis, based on the recommendations of the youth council and on 
the criteria contained in the State Plan.  [Refer to the State WIA “Procurement Standards” policy.]  
Providers of youth activities will not be listed on the State’s eligible training provider list (unless 
they also provide services to adults and dislocated workers).   
 
Eligible Providers of Technology Based Learning (TBL) 
NDOL encourages the local areas to utilize Technology Based Learning (TBL) opportunities as 
much as possible.  The utilization of TBL coursework offers accessibility to training opportunities to 
both rural and urban residents as well as flexibility on achieving necessary coursework. 
 

Administration 
The Governor has designated NDOL as the agency responsible for carrying out the 
responsibilities associated with the selection of service providers for Individual Training Accounts. 
These responsibilities include making determinations on whether a provider has met its 
performance levels and carrying out enforcement measures.  NDOL was chosen as an unbiased 
broker of information and services.  NDOL is responsible for the employment statistics used to 
help eligible providers gather performance information.   
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Availability of the Eligible Provider Information 
NDOL shall compile a single list of eligible training providers from applications approved by a local 
workforce investment board.  NDOL will disseminate the list, which includes performance 
information and program cost information, and will post the list on the NDOL website at 
http://www.dol.nebraska.gov/ > Quick Links > TrainingLink.  The information shall be made widely 
available to participants in employment and training activities authorized under the WIA and 
others, through the TrainingLink website.  
 
The public list of eligible providers will contain the following information, at a minimum: 

 program and provider name and address 

 program completion rates for all individuals participating in the applicable programs 

 percentage of all individuals participating in the applicable programs who obtain 
unsubsidized employment 

 wages at placement 

 program costs 
 
NDOL is well positioned to provide access to the list of eligible providers and accompanying 
performance data.  The NDOL website at http://www.dol.nebraska.gov/ is well-known for career 
information.  
 
Individual customers eligible to receive training services under Section 134(d)(4) of the WIA shall 
have the opportunity to select any of the “eligible providers” that have been approved by a local 
workforce investment board and appear with a red check mark on TrainingLink.   
 
Nebraska may enter into reciprocal agreements to permit eligible providers to accept Individual 
Training Accounts provided in another state. 
 

Removing Providers from the Eligible List  
Upon receipt of performance information, the State shall remove programs from the State list that 
failed to meet the minimum performance levels.  If the provider does not meet the required 
performance levels for all of its programs, it shall be removed from the list of “eligible providers.”  
In addition, there are a number of other enforcement reasons a provider may be removed from the 
list of “eligible providers” including: 
 

 Accuracy of Information:  If the designated state agency, after consultation with the local 
board involved, determines an eligible provider or individual supplying information on 
behalf of the provider intentionally supplies inaccurate information, the agency shall 
terminate the eligibility of the provider to receive funds described in Sec 122 subsection (a) 
for any program for a period of time, but not less than two years.  
 

 Noncompliance:  If the designated state agency, or the local board working with the state 
agency, determines an eligible provider described in Section 122 subsection (a) 
substantially violates any requirement under this Act, the agency, or the local board 
working with the state agency, may terminate the eligibility of such provider to receive 
funds or take such other action as the agency or local board determines to be appropriate.  
When it is necessary to terminate the eligibility of a provider, efforts shall be made to 
transition current students, as appropriate.   

 

http://www.dol.nebraska.gov/
http://www.dol.nebraska.gov/
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 Repayment:  A provider whose eligibility is terminated because of Accuracy of Information 
or Noncompliance (described above) shall be liable for repayment of all funds received for 
the program during any period of noncompliance.  

 

 Construction:  This enforcement subsection and the appeal process shall be construed to 
provide remedies and penalties that supplement, but do not supplant, other civil and 
criminal remedies and penalties.  

 

Appeal Process 
There is an appeal process for providers denied eligibility to provide services, who are 
subsequently terminated from the State list of eligible training providers, or who are denied 
eligibility by a one-stop operator to provide on-the-job training or customized training.  The training 
provider will: 
 

 Submit a written request for a hearing within 30 days of denial notification to the state board.  
The state board will conduct a hearing within 30 days of receipt of the request for the hearing; 
 

 The hearing shall include the reason(s) why the eligibility to provide training was terminated by 
the State, and an appeal by the training provider describing why the decision should be 
reversed or a compromise established; 
 

 Within 10 days of the hearing, the state board will render a final judgment that will include the 
length of time, if any, the provider must remain ineligible to provide training services, and 
conditions that will justify re-establishing eligibility as a training provider; 
 

 A decision under this State appeal process may not be appealed to the Secretary of Labor; 
and 
 

 Any parties aggrieved by a final decision may file a petition for review in the district court of the 
county where the action is taken within 30 days after service of the final decision. 


