Instructions for Completing Employment Certificates
Employment Certificate for Minors 14 and 15 years old
NOTE: This Employment Certificate is for the sole use of City School Superintendents in designated public high school districts and their designees. It is not for use by the general public for other than informational purposes.
Print one certificate, complete, sign and then make two copies.
The Certificate is issued in triplicate: one copy to business, one copy to Nebraska Department of Labor, and one copy for files of issuing officer. The employer must keep the Employment Certificate on file and return the certificate to the school issuing the same when the child leaves employment.
The employer must keep posted in the room where the child works, a printed notice (Form 110) stating the hours of work of the child.
Children fourteen and fifteen years of age shall not be permitted to work more than eight hours a day, forty-eight hours a week, before the hour of 6:00 a.m. or after the hour of 10:00 p.m. under state law. Federal Hour Restrictions are: Not more than 3 Hours on a School Day, Not more than 18 Hours in a School Week, Not More than 8 Hours on a Non-school Day, Not more than 40 Hours in a Non-school Week, and Not Before 7 a.m. nor After 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from June 1st through Labor Day).
The Department of Labor is authorized to issue a special permit to allow the employment of 14 and 15 year old children before 6:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m. provided there is no school scheduled the following day and after an inspection of the working conditions at the business premises. The special permit may be issued for periods not to exceed ninety days and may be renewed. The fee for each special permit or renewal shall be ten dollars.
Special Permits cannot be issued if the business falls under Federal Law.
Children under sixteen years of age may not be employed in any work which by reason of the nature of the work is dangerous to life or limb, or in which the child’s health may be injured or their morals depraved.
The presence of a child apparently at work is prima facie evidence of employment.
NEBRASKA WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT – Department of Labor
January Unemployment Rates
Next Release Date:
February March 21 at 9:00 AM
- JOB FAIR -
FBG Service Corp Grand Island Job Fair/On-Site Interviews
03/12/2014 - 03/12/2014
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Nebraska Department of Labor's Grand Island American Job Center
203 E. Stolley Park Rd., Ste. A
Grand Island, NE
- JOB FAIR -
Job Fair - involving companies from Fillmore, Seward, and York Counties
03/25/2014 - 03/25/2014
2:00 PM - 7:00 PM
York College - Campbell Activity Center
1 block west of 10th & Delaware